to the National Atlas Home page
About | Fact Sheets | Contact Us | Partners | Products | Site Map | FAQ | Help | Follow us on Twitter 
Part of Project LogoAgricultureBiologyBoundariesClimateEnvironmentGeologyGovernmentHistoryMappingPeopleTransportationWater
to the Interactive Map MakerMap LayersPrintable MapsWall MapsDynamic MapsArticlesMapping Professionals

Map Layer Info

National Wilderness Preservation System of the United States

What this map layer shows:

Federal lands that are part of the National Wilderness Preservation System.
opens the U.S. Geological Survey home page
Background Information
Sample map Sample Map
Wilderness areas are areas of undeveloped Federal land that retain their primeval character and influence, without permanent improvements or human habitation, which are protected and managed to preserve their natural conditions. These areas are established as part of the National Wilderness Preservation System according to the Wilderness Act of 1964, P.L. 88-577. They are owned or administered by the Bureau of Land Management, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service, or the National Park Service. This map layer was compiled by the National Atlas of the United States®.

The National Wilderness Preservation System of the United States map layer shows wilderness areas for all 50 of the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Only areas of 640 acres or more are included. Descriptive information includes the name of the wilderness area, the owning or administering agency, and the URL for a Web site describing the wilderness area. Wilderness area information is also included in the National Atlas Federal Lands map layer.